Mariella Cassar - Professional Astrologer

About Me
About Consultations
Buy a Consultation
Contact Me



What is Vedic AstrologyMariella Cassar Zodiac Horoscope

Jyotisa Pandita and Jaimini Scholar
Western and Vedic Astrology Consultations

Vedic Astrology - also known as Jyotish - is astrology as practiced in India. It is an unbroken tradition practiced for thousands of years. It is based on the sidereal zodiac, unlike western astrology which is based on the tropical zodiac. In Vedic Astrology there are 16 principal divisional charts and many more variations which are calculated based on the natal horoscope. Each divisonal chart gives detailed information on a particular aspect of life. For example the Navamsa (D9) chart focuses on relationships, the Saptamsa (D7) on children, the Dashamsa (D10) on career, the Dwadashamsa (D12) on parents, the Trimshamsa (D30) on health matters and the Shastiamsa (D60) on past life. In order to cast these fine tuned, divisional charts it is essential to have a very accurate time of birth as even a couple of minutes can change a divisional chart.

There are many techniques in Jyotish in addition to standard progressions, directions, profections and transits which can provide additional information such as the Planetary Periods known as Dasa which give more specific detail on current events and which are used to make an astrological forecast.

Vedic Astrology provides a great deal of additional information on one's karma in this life as well as on karma brought forward from a past life which helps to understand the purpose of the soul's incarnation. I combine this with the western psychological approach to astrology to counsel clients.